Oaklands Primary School

Governing Body Structure

All Governing Bodies of community schools can agree on a model for the size and membership of their Governing Body based on what best suits the circumstances of that school.  The size of the Governing Body can range from a minimum of 7 to no maximum number.

The Governing Body of Oaklands Primary School has the following members.

Last updated: November 2019

4 Parent Governors

Parents (including guardians/carers) of registered pupils at the school are eligible to stand for election for parent governorship at the school. Parent Governors are elected by other parents at the school.

Simon Armstrong

Gayle Cope

Andrew Liles

Joe Prendiville

1 Staff Governor

Both teaching and support staff paid to work in the school are eligible for staff governorship. One Staff Governor is elected by the school staff and must be paid to work at the school; volunteers are not eligible.

Ghazaal Majidi

The Headteacher is a member of the Governing Body by virtue of his position.

Tessa Hodgson

1 Local Authority (LA) Governor

The LA Governor is nominated by the Local Authority (LA). The Governing Body may agree to appoint (or not) the LA nominee, and can also submit eligibility criteria by which a nominee should be selected.

Maggie O'Neill

7 Co-opted Governors

Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body often to meet the need for a specific set of skills, knowledge or experience.  Co-opted Governors can be people who live or work in the community served by the school, or people who do not work or live close to the school, but are committed to the good governance and success of the school.

Halina Bakhovska

William Blanchard

Phoebe Carter

Darryl Evans

Ruth Harper

Collette Boyd Joseph


One Position vacant